Canongate, Atlantic and W H Smith win at Nibbies

<p>Indie publishers Canongate and Atlantic were the big winners at the British Book Industy Awards, held last night (1st June) during this year&rsquo;s Booksellers Industry Conference. W H Smith picked up the chain of the year gong, while The Hungerford Bookshop was indie of the year. </p><p>Canongate picked up Publisher of the Year, with the judges praising the company for its: &ldquo;great professionalism, attention to detail and sheer exuberance of its publishing programme in 2008, which led to an impressive doubling in turnover during the year&rdquo;. While Atlantic Books scored two: Independent Publisher of the Year and Imprint &amp; Editor of the Year for Ravi Mirchandani.<br /><br />Chain Bookselling Company of the Year went to W H Smith and Direct Bookselling Company of the Year went to The Book Depository. The Hungerford Bookshop was awarded Independent Bookshop of the Year for &quot;displaying bookselling excellence, great event management and successful&mdash;and profitable&mdash;involvement in their local community&quot;.<br /><br />The BBIAs are organised by <em>Publishing News </em>in conjunction with the Booksellers Association; m.d. of <em>PN</em>, Jo Henry, said: &quot;Last year proved challenging for the book industry and many are still holding their breath to see how 2009 turns out. These awards recognise the ingenuity, creativity and energy of the book publishing and retail sectors, even in this tough economic climate.&quot;</p><p><br /><strong>The awards in full:</strong></p><p><strong>Frankfurt Book Fair Rights Professional of the Year&#8232;</strong>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Lucy Vanderbilt, HarperCollins&#8232;</p><p><strong>Orion Publishing Group Literary Agent of the Year</strong><br />Jonathan Lloyd, Curtis Brown<br /><br /><strong>Sue Butterworth Award for Young Bookseller of the Year, sponsored by HarperCollins</strong><br />Joint Winners: Max Porter of Daunt Books and Lisa Bird of Foyles South Bank<br /><strong><br />StoraEnso Design &amp; Production Award</strong><br /><em>The Big Fat Duck Cookbook </em>(Bloomsbury)<br /><br /><strong>Baker Tilly Imprint &amp; Editor of the Year</strong><br />Ravi Mirchandani, Atlantic<br /><br /><strong>Arts Council England Diversity Award in Literature </strong><br />Saqi <br /><br /><strong>The <em>Daily Mail</em> Marketing Campaign of the Year</strong><br /><em>Devil May Care</em> Jane Rose, Penguin<br /><br /><strong>PPC Publicity Campaign of the Year </strong><br /><em>The Outcast</em>, Louise Rhind-Tutt, Random House<br /><br /><strong>Independent Alliance Independent Bookshop of the Year</strong><br />The Hungerford Bookshop<br /><br /><strong>Lightning Source Independent Publisher of the Year</strong><br />Atlantic Books<br /><strong><br />Harlequin Mills &amp; Boon Direct Bookselling Company of the Year</strong><br />The Book Depository<br /><br /><strong>BDS/ehaus Chain Bookselling Company of the Year</strong><br />WHSmith <br /><br /><strong>Publishing Technology Publisher of the Year</strong><br />Canongate&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </p>