Byng, Mann and McIntyre among publishing's most influential

Byng, Mann and McIntyre among publishing's most influential

Canongate m.d. Jamie Byng, Kings Road Publishing m.d. Perminder Mann, Creative Access chief executive Josie Dobrin and illustrator Sarah McIntyre have been named among the most influential people in publishing and writing.

The quartet were named in the top 10 in the sector at the h.Club 100 awards, formally known as The Hospital Club h.Club 100, in partnership with the Creative Industries Council.

Joining the four on the list are Goldsboro Books’ owner David Headley, blogger and cookbook author Ella Woodward, World Book Day director Kirsten Grant, and Hay Festival director Peter Florence.

The list also includes The Pool founders Lauren Laverne and Sam Baker, and Twitter’s Sunil Singhvi.

A public vote decided one of the category winners, with the remaining nine decided by a panel of judges consisting of Philip Jones, editor of The Bookseller; Simon Trewin, head of the literary division of WME in the UK; Damian Horner, brand development director at Hachette UK; and Richard Mollet, chief executive of The Publishers Association.

There are 100 winners in the h.Club 100, split into 10 categories - advertising, marketing and PR; art and design; broadcast; fashion; film; games; music; publishing and writing; rising stars (under 25s); and theatre and performance.

Each category had a bespoke trophy designed by Rachel Harding, a London-based product designer selected for the h.Club Foundation’s Emerging Creatives scheme.

Two special awards were also presented at the awards ceremony on Thursday 1st October. The Creative Industries Council Award for cross-industry collaboration was won by Andy Serkis for The Imaginarium Studios and The Hospital Club Foundation Award was won by Wac Arts and accepted by its founder Celia Greenwood. Since 1978 Wac has helped over 30,000 gifted young people who face exceptional challenges and hardship to expand their life opportunities and aspirations through arts and media.