Business Book of the Year 2015 shortlist revealed

Business Book of the Year 2015 shortlist revealed

Books about disruptive technology and gender equality in the workplace are among the subjects tackled by the six books shortlisted for the 2015 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award.

Now in its 11th year, the £30,000 award recognises the title that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.

Independent publisher Oneworld has two books on the shortlist - The Rise of the Robots: Technology and the Threat of Mass Unemployment by Martin Ford (Oneworld Publications), and Unfinished Business: Women Men Work Family by Anne-Marie Slaughter (Oneworld Publications).

Focusing on technology are How Music Got Free: What Happens When an Entire Generation Commits the Same Crime? by Stephen Witt (Bodley Head), Losing the Signal: The Untold Story Behind the Extraordinary Rise and Spectacular Fall of Blackberry by Jacquie McNish and Sean Silcoff (Flatiron Books), and Digital Gold: The Untold Story of Bitcoin by Nathaniel Popper (Allen Lane)

The final book on the list is Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioural Economics by Richard Thaler (Allen Lane).

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, said: "From behavioural economics to disruptive technology, this year’s shortlist tackles, with compelling narrative and in-depth analysis, the important themes that business must confront today."

Vivian Hunt, McKinsey & Company's m.d., UK and Ireland, said: "We are very excited by this year's shortlist. The six books really capture some of the key challenges that are demanding the attention of executives, policy makers and society in general."

The judging panel, chaired by Barber, includes Reid Hoffman, entrepreneur and co-founder of LinkedIn, and  Shriti Vadera, chair of Santander UK.

The winner will be announced at a dinner ceremony on 17th November in New York. The winner of the Business Book of the Year Award 2015 will be awarded £30,000, and £10,000 will be awarded to each of the remaining shortlisted books.

Last year’s award was won by Thomas Piketty for Capital in the Twenty-First Century (Harvard University Press), translated by Arthur Goldhammer.