Bryant and Johnson shortlisted for Political Book Awards

Bryant and Johnson shortlisted for Political Book Awards

Shadow culture minister Chris Bryant faces off against former home secretary Alan Johnson in the shortlist for political book of the year at the Paddy Power Political Book Awards 2015.

Bryant, who took on his current role in December last year, has been shortlisted for his book Parliament: The Biography (Doubleday), the first of two planned volumes covering the institution. It goes up against fellow Transworld-stablemate and Labour MP Alan Johnson, whose memoir Please, Mister Postman (Bantam Press), is also shortlisted for the prize.

Completing the shortlist for the political book of the year prize are Anne de Courcy's Margot at War (Weidenfeld & Nicolson); Revolt on the Right: Explaining Support for the Radical Right in Britain by Robert Ford and Matthew Goodwin (Routledge); The Snowden Files: The Inside Story of the World's Most Wanted Man by Luke Harding (Guardian Faber); Smile for the Camera: The Double Life of Cyril Smith by Simon Danczuk and Matthew Barker (Biteback Publishing); and Napoleon the Great by Andrew Roberts (Allen Lane).

The winner of the political book of the year prize receives £10,000, donated by Lord Ashcroft. A further £3,000 prize goes to the winner of the debut political book of the year award. Other awards will be given out for biography of the year, polemic of the year, political history book of the year, and political fiction book of the year, while others cover practical politics, satire and humour, and international affairs. A new prize created this year will cover publishing on the First World War while a lifetime achievement award for political writing will also be handed out on the night, held at the BFI Imax on 28th January.

This is the third year the awards have been held, after being founded by Biteback publisher and political commentator Iain Dale. They have been sponsored each year by Paddy Power and Lord Ashcroft. Dale said: "The Paddy Power Political Book Awards have become a permanent fixture in the book awards calendar. The calibre of the shortlisted authors is once again outstanding and the awards celebrate the breadth and diversity in political writing."

Judges for this year's awards include Charles Clarke, Caroline Michel and Damian McBride.

Last year's winner of the political book of the year award was Charles Moore's first volume of his authorised biography of Margaret Thatcher.


The full shortlists are:

Political Book of the Year

Parliament: The Biography Chris Bryant (Doubleday)
Margot at War Anne de Courcy (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
Revolt on the Right: Explaining Support for the Radical Right in Britain Robert Ford & Matthew Goodwin (Routledge)
Please, Mister Postman Alan Johnson (Bantam Press)
The Snowden Files: The Inside Story of the World’s Most Wanted Man Luke Harding (Guardian Faber)
Smile for the Camera: The Double Life of Cyril Smith Simon Danczuk & Matthew Baker (Biteback Publishing)
Napoleon the Great Andrew Roberts (Allen Lane)
Polemic of the Year

Everyday Sexism Laura Bates (Simon & Schuster)
Unspeakable Things: Sex, Lies and Revolution Laurie Penny (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Harry's Last Stand Harry Leslie Smith (Icon Books)
The Establishment: And How They Get Away with It Owen Jones (Allen Lane)
An Inconvenient Genocide: Who Now Remembers the Armenians? Geoffrey Robertson (Biteback Publishing)
AIDS: Don’t Die of Prejudice Norman Fowler (Biteback Publishing)
International Affairs Book of the Year

Ping-Pong Diplomacy Nicholas Griffin (Simon & Schuster)
No Place to Hide Glenn Greenwald (Hamish Hamilton)
Political Order and Political Decay Francis Fukuyama (Profile Books)
Women of the World: The Rise of the Female Diplomat Helen McCarthy (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Rogue Elephant Simon Denyer (Bloomsbury Publishing)
War and Gold Kwasi Kwarteng (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Political History Book of the Year

National Service: Conscription in Britain, 1945–1963 Richard Vinen (Allen Lane)
Phantom Terror: The Threat of Revolution and the Repression of Liberty 1789–1848 Adam Zamoyski (William Collins)
Napoleon: Soldier of Destiny Michael Broers (Faber & Faber)
Mecca: The Scared City Ziauddin Sardar (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Modernity Britain: Book Two: A Shake of the Dice 1959–62 David Kynaston (Bloomsbury Publishing)
A Spy Among Friends Ben Macintyre (Bloomsbury Publishing)
The People: The Rise and Fall of the Working Class 1910–2010 Selina Todd (John Murray)

Political Biography of the Year

The Churchill Factor Boris Johnson (Hodder & Stoughton)
Roy Jenkins John Campbell (Jonathan Cape)
Sailing Close to the Wind Dennis Skinner (Quercus)
Right or Wrong: The Memoirs of Lord Bell Tim Bell (Bloomsbury Continuum)
Coming Up Trumps Jean Trumpington (Macmillan)
Clement Attlee Michael Jago (Biteback Publishing)
World War One Book of the Year

From Downing Street to the Trenches: First Hand Accounts from the Great War 1914–1916 Mike Webb (Bodleian Library)
Margot Asquith's Great War Diary 1914–1916 edited by Michael Brock and Eleanor Brock (Oxford University Press)
The First World War on the Home Front Terry Charman (Andre Deutsch)
Fatal Fortnight Duncan Marlor (Frontline Books)
The World's War David Olusoga (Head of Zeus)
Englanders and Huns James Hawes (Simon & Schuster)
Political Humour and Satire Book of the Year

Who's Feckin Who in Irish History Colin Murphy (illustrated by Brendan O'Reilly) (The O'Brien Press)
Listellany John Rentoul (Elliott & Thompson)
Would They Lie to You Robert Hutton (Elliott & Thompson)
The Best of Britain's Political Cartoons 2014 edited by Tim Benson (Scribe UK)
I Never Promised You a Rose Garden John Crace (Bantam Press)
A Very Courageous Decision: The Inside Story of Yes Minister Graham McCann (Aurum Press)
Debut Political Book of the Year

The 13th Labour of Hercules: Inside the Greek Crisis Yannis Palaiologos (Portobello Books)
City of Lies Ramita Navai (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
Turkish Awakening Alev Scott (Faber & Faber)
In the Name of the People Lara Pawson (I. B. Tauris)
The Dark Net: Inside the Digital Underworld Jamie Bartlett (William Heinemann)
How to Be a Minister John Hutton & Leigh Lewis (Biteback Publishing)
Political Fiction Book of the Year

Acts of Omission Terry Stiastny (John Murray)
Miss Carter's War Sheila Hancock (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Head of State Andrew Marr (Fourth Estate)
Barbarians Tim Glencross (John Murray)
The Madness of July James Naughtie (Head of Zeus)
The Four Streets Nadine Dorries (Head of Zeus)
Practical Politics Book of the Year

The Europe Dilemma: Britain and the Drama of EU Integration Roger Liddle (I. B. Tauris)
Scotland's Referendum: A Guide for Voters David Torrance & Jamie Maxwell (Luath Press)
The Democratic Unionist Party: From Protest to Power Jonathan Tonge, Máire Braniff, Thomas Hennessey, James W. McAuley and Sophie A. Whiting (Oxford University Press)
Sex, Lies and the Ballot Box Philip Cowley & Robert Ford (Biteback Publishing)
The ‘Too Difficult’ Box Charles Clarke (Biteback Publishing)
My Scotland, Our Britain Gordon Brown (Simon & Schuster)