The British Book Awards in pictures

The British Book Awards in pictures

The British Book Awards 2018 took place on Monday 14th May at Grosvenor House Hotel in London.


Judith Kerr presented the Individual Bookseller of the Year award - and received the first standing ovation of the night.


Philip Pullman left was named Author of the Year, while poet Benjamin Zephaniah presented the award for Independent Bookshop of the Year.


Reni Eddo-Lodge centre won the Non-Fiction: Narrative Book of the Year award for Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race (Bloomsbury). She is joined by her agent Carrie Plitt left and Bloomsbury's Alexa von Hirschberg.


Last year's winner Kiran Millwood Hargrave left presented the award for Children's Book of the Year. Walker Books' commissioning editor Annalie Grainger centre collected the award on behalf of The Hate U Give author Angie Thomas.


Broadcasters Chris Smith left and Greg James presented the award for Non-Fiction: Lifestyle Book of the Year. Collecting the award on behalf of 5 Ingrediants (Michael Joseph) author Jamie Oliver was managing director Louise Moore second left and editor in chief Rebecca Verity centre.


Axel Scheffler was named Illustrator of the Year and used the opportunity to give a rousing speech on Brexit and the EU - which you can view in full here.


Nottingham's Five Leaves Bookshop was crowned Independent Bookshop of the Year.


Maggie O'Farrell left presented Jon McGregor with the Fiction Book of the Year award for Reservoir 13 (Fourth Estate).


Gail Honeyman scooped Fiction: Debut Book of the Year for Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (HarperCollins), which then went on to win Overall Book of the Year.


The Bookseller's deputy editor Benedicte Page right presented Madeleine Milburn with the award for Literary Agent of the Year.


HarperCollins' fiction marketing director Hannah O'Brien centre and senior marketing manager Sarah Shea second right won the Marketing Strategy of the Year award for the campaign behind Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.


The Book Nook's Julie Ward and Vanessa Lewis scooped Children's Bookseller of the Year.


Matt Haig presented Walker Books' publicity manager Rosi Crawley centre left and EDPR's managing director Emma Draude centre right with the award for Publicity Campaign of the Year, for their work on Angie Thomas' The Hate U Give.


Faber won Independent Publisher of the Year; c.e.o. Stephen Page collected the award.


The celebrations continued once the ceremony was over.


Pan Macmillan's Sara Lloyd was among the guests in attendance.


DJ Charli Vos entertained guests at the after party.