Booksellers asked to nominate 'outstanding' travel writers

Booksellers asked to nominate 'outstanding' travel writers

Michael Palin, Bill Bryson and William Dalrymple are just some of the names already nominated for the Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing.

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards and Authors’ Club  is running a search for the writer whose work deserves such a title and calling on booksellers to make suggestions of living authors who have helped to “show them the world.”
People from the trade are asked to tweet their suggestions using the hashtag #ShowedMeTheWorld.

The nominations will be used to create a longlist, with a panel of retail partners from Waterstones, Daunts, Blackwells, Booka Bookshop, Storytellers Inc, Caxton Bookshop, Chorleywood Bookshop, and Hungerford Bookshop choosing the winner.
Other writers which have so far been suggested for the title are Ted Simon, Paul Theroux and Dervla Murphy.

Stanfords m.d Tony Maher said: “We want to hear from readers who they feel have made travel writing what it is today.”

The winner along with the winner of the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year will be announced on 28th September at a ceremony at the National Liberal Club in London.

The shortlist for the Travel Book of the Year title can be viewed here.