Bookseller Awards open for business

Bookseller Awards open for business

The starting gun has been fired in the race to find Britain's best publishers, retailers—and, new this year, libraries—as the Bookseller Industry Awards open for entries today (20th January).

The leading book trade awards have been expanded for 2012 with the addition of three new categories: to find the best library; the top academic, professional and educational publisher; and the overall National Bookseller of the Year.

In total, 17 categories will be honoured at the awards, which will be presented at a black-tie event at London's Park Lane Hilton on 14th May. Additionally, the Booksellers Association will present its high-profile Gerry Davies Award at the event. Entries are now open at, and the deadline for entries is 24th February. The website contains detailed criteria in every category.

Chair of judges and The Bookseller's editor-in-chief Neill Denny said: "It is a great privilege to organise these awards and find the very best of the book trade. We uncover great stories about how the trade is adapting and thriving—despite (and perhaps because of) the challenging economic backdrop—and then honour them. These are the premier awards for excellence in publishing and retailing, and we urge everyone to enter. Winning can have a huge impact on a business or individual.

"In terms of this year's changes, we felt that a category devoted purely to finding the best library would shine a positive light on libraries and offset some of the negativity around the cuts agenda, while academic and professional publishers are long overdue recognition: they are some of the most innovative and successful operators in the whole publishing arena."

As in previous years, a judging panel has been assembled from across publishing and beyond, with new names for 2012 including former Hodder Headline c.e.o. Martin Neild and leading specialist retailer Graham Kirkham, founder of furniture chain DFS. They join such regulars as Booker Prize literary director Ion Trewin and marketing consultant Damian Horner. Full details of all 11 judges are on the awards website.

Last year Publisher of the Year was taken by Quercus; with Mr B's Emporium of Reading Delights named Best Independent Bookseller; Faber & Faber Best Indie Publisher; and Chatto and Clara Farmer winning Imprint and Editor of the Year.

The search for the Independent Bookseller of the Year, sponsored by Gardners, has already begun. Regional winners go before the main judging panel, with the overall national champion receiving £5,000 to spend on marketing and promotion. Entries are open until 31st January.

2012 Categories:

Sue Butterworth Young Bookseller of the Year

Independent Bookseller of the Year

Children's Independent Bookseller of the Year

Children's Bookseller of the Year

Manager of the Year

National Bookseller of the Year

Library of the Year

Marketing Campaign of the Year

Publicity Campaign of the Year

Rights Professional of the Year

Literary Agent of the Year

Imprint and Editor of the Year

Digital Strategy of the Year

Children's Publisher of the Year

Independent Publisher of the Year

Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year

Publisher of the Year