Bookouture signs 'hilarious' debut The Runaway Wife

Bookouture signs 'hilarious' debut The Runaway Wife

Bookouture has signed debut author Dee MacDonald in a two-book deal.

Associate publisher Natasha Harding acquired world all language rights for two novels from Amanda Preston at LBA Literary Agents.

First in the deal is The Runaway Wife, a “hilarious, poignant and uplifting” story centring on Connie McColl, a wife and grandmother who "decides it’s time to take off her marigolds and start living her life again".

"She hops in her little green car and goes on a funny, inspiring and emotional journey around the UK, seeking out old friends and new experiences," said the publisher.

Preston said MacDonald's protagonist Connie would "capture readers’ hearts" while Harding called her story "hugely relatable and perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List as well as Dawn French and Fiona Gibson". 

MacDonald said: "I am delighted to have a two-book deal with Bookouture and to be joining such a vibrant and friendly team. I hope my readers will enjoy reading about Connie (who’s discovered it’s never too late to make changes!) as much as I’ve enjoyed writing about her. Many, many thanks to my brilliant agent and publisher."

The Runaway Wife will publish in April 2018 and will be followed by a second novel in July 2018.