Vlogger thriller debut to Bonnier

Vlogger thriller debut to Bonnier

Bonnier Publishing has acquired two books from debut novelist Alex Caan.

The first, You and Me, is a “slick, dark, modern thriller” set in the “fast-paced” world of YouTube vloggers.

You and Me follows Ruby, a vlogger, rising star of YouTube and heroine to millions of teenage girls who goes missing. After a video is uploaded of Ruby in the dirt, pleading for her life, an investigation is launched, headed up by Detective Inspector Kate Riley and Detective Superindentant Zain Harris.

Caan is a specialist in Terrorism Studies and has worked for a number of government organisations. You and Me is his first novel, and he is at work on a second, also featuring Riley and Harris.

Kate Parkin, executive director of Bonnier Publishing Fiction, acquired world English language rights for the two books from Luigi Bonomi of LBA Associates.

Parkin described You and Me as a “slick, dark, modern, thriller in the tradition of Sarah Hilary and Roberth Galbraith that grips from the very first page.”

You and Me will be published on Bonnier’s Twenty7 list in 2016.