Bloomsbury, Edward Elgar and Nosy Crow lead IPG Awards shortlists

Bloomsbury, Edward Elgar and Nosy Crow lead IPG Awards shortlists

Bloomsbury, Edward Elgar Publishing and Nosy Crow have three shortlistings each at the ninth annual Independent Publishers Guild (IPG) awards.

The IPG Awards today (18th February) revealed its 12 category shortlists. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 5th March as part of the IPG annual spring conference.

This year sees the diversity award renamed the Alison Morrison Diversity Award in memory of Alison Morrison, former marketing director at IPG member Walker Books and chair of Booktrust, who died late last year.

She was co-founder of DipNet, a network promoting equality in publishing. The shortlist for the award is made up of Alanna Books, Carcanet Press, Frances Lincoln Children’s Books, and Shade 7 Publishing.

The 2014 IPG Children’s Publisher of the Year, Usborne Publishing, is in the running again for this year’s award, and will go up against Bloomsbury Publishing, Nosy Crow and Walker Books.

Bloomsbury’s academic and professional division will compete against Jordan Publishing and Liverpool University Press for the Frankfurt Book Fair Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year award.

The Inkubate Trade Publisher of the Year has three shortlisted companies - Carcanet Press, Pavilion Books, and Pushkin Press.

Illuminate Publishing, Jolly Learning and Letterland will compete for the Librios Education Publisher of the Year award.

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year will be decided between How2Become, Quiller Publishing, and Search Press.

The Nick Robinson Newcomer Award was renamed last year in memory of the late chairman of former independent publisher Constable & Robinson. The shortlisted companies are Galley Beggar Press, Really Decent Books, and Rowman & Littlefield International.

Shortlisted for the Bookseller International Achievement of the Year award are Edward Elgar Publishing, Letterland, and Usborne Publishing.

The Ingram Content Group Digital Publishing Award shortlist is made up of Bloomsbury’s academic and professional division, Edward Elgar Publishing, and Nosy Crow.

The Nielsen Digital Marketing Award will be decided between Edward Elgar Publishing, How2Become, and Nosy Crow.

Tom Bonnick from Nosy Crow, Sam Hutchinson from B Small Publishing, and Hajera Memon from Shade 7 Publishing will compete for the IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year award.

The GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award will be decided between Abrams & Chronicle Books, Faber Factory, Faber Factory Plus, and Propagator.

The Fox Williams Independent Publisher of the Year will be decided between the winners of the five publisher of the year categories. Last year’s winner was Usborne.

IPG chief executive Bridget Shine said: “Competition for places on the shortlists in our ninth year was stronger than ever, and we thank every IPG member who made it so by submitting entries. Our judges have produced a dozen superb shortlists and we salute all the companies and individuals on them. We are particularly delighted to welcome so many newcomers to the lists, which show not just the vibrancy and diversity of independent publishing but the constant emergence of exciting new companies. We are really looking forward to celebrating the achievements of all of them in early March.”

The judges for this year’s awards are Graham Bell, executive director, EDItEUR; Tom Tivnan, features and insight editor, The Bookseller; Jo Henry, vice president, insight and analytics, Nielsen Book; David Roche, founder, David Roche Enterprises and chairman, London Book Fair; Kieron Smith, digital director, Blackwell’s; Mark Thwaite, head of online, Foyles; Nicholas Clee, joint editor, BookBrunch; Pete Duncan, consultant and former managing director of Constable & Robinson; Mary Elliott, associate, Fox Williams LLP; Peter Faber, partner, Fox Williams LLP; Gareth Hardy, head of commercial, Blackwell’s; Finn Kirkland, business development manager, Firsty Group; Stephen Lustig, business development director, Eurospan; and Ian Taylor, founder, Ian Taylor Associates.