Bloomsbury and Nosy Crow bag hat-trick on IPG awards shortlists

Bloomsbury and Nosy Crow bag hat-trick on IPG awards shortlists

Bloomsbury and Nosy Crow have both been nominated for three categories in the shortlists for the Independent Publishers Guild (IPG) annual awards, which this year sees more than a third of the nominated companies appear for the first time.

Jolly Learning, Sweet Cherry Publishing and Unbound each have two places on the shortlists, which feature 43 nominations and celebrate 32 different companies and four individuals.

Competing for Paperback Shop Trade Publisher of the Year is Atlantic Books, which holds the title from last year, Bloomsbury Publishing, Faber & Faber and Hardie Grant.

Up for The Bookseller Young Independent Publisher of the Year are Boldwood Books sales and marketing director Nia Benyon, Class Professional Publishing senior digital editor Shanon Rademacher and Michael Watson, senior publicist at Watkins Publishing.

Commenting on the lists this year, IPG c.e.o. Bridget Shine said: “It was an exceptionally challenging year for us all in 2020, so we are thrilled to be celebrating the outstanding success of so many superb independent publishers and people. They have all performed brilliantly during the pandemic, showing all the extraordinary resilience, flexibility and commercial success of our sector. After more than a year and a half of remote working and virtual events, it will be even more exciting than usual to celebrate IPG members’ successes in person in September.”

The winners of all the awards will be revealed at a lunch on 21st September at the Oxo Tower Brasserie in London. Tickets for the event are available now. One more award, Independent Publisher of the Year, will be chosen from a shortlist made up of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

The awards sponsors include Clays, Deanta, GBS, Publishers’ Licensing Services, The Bookseller, Paperback Shop and Westchester Education Services.

The full shortlists are:

Paperback Shop Trade Publisher of the Year

Atlantic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing, Faber & Faber, Hardie Grant

Clays Children’s Publisher of the Year

Nosy Crow, Sweet Cherry Publishing, Usborne Publishing

PLS Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year

Bloomsbury Publishing, Bristol University Press, Class Publishing, Edward Elgar Publishing

Westchester Education Services Education Publisher of the Year

Bloomsbury Publishing, Brilliant Publications, Jolly Learning

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year

David & Charles, How2Become, Unbound, Vertebrate Publishing

Nick Robinson Newcomer Award

Chelsea Green Publishing UK, Magic Cat Publishing, Swift Press

Deanta International Award

Jolly Learning, Nosy Crow, Sweet Cherry Publishing

IPG Marketing Award

Kogan Page, Nosy Crow, Pluto Press

Alison Morrison Diversity Award

Emerald Publishing, Oneworld, Princeton University Press, SAGE Publishing, Unbound

IPG Sustainability Award

Cambridge University Press, Hawthorn Press

The Bookseller Young Independent Publisher of the Year

Nia Beynon, Boldwood Books; Shanon Rademacher, Class Professional Publishing; Michael Watson, Watkins Publishing

GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award

The Book Publicist, Bookswarm, Edelweiss, Glassboxx, Inpress, Suzanne Collier