Toon up for both Bloody Scotland Debut award and McIlvanney Prize

Toon up for both Bloody Scotland Debut award and McIlvanney Prize

This year's Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Book of the year shortlist and McIlvanney Prize longlist have been revealed, with author Francine Toon up for both awards. 

Toon's Pine (Doubleday), Deborah Masson's Hold Your Tongue (Transworld), Stephen O’Rourke's The Crown Agent (Sandstone), Marion Todd's See Them Run (Canelo), and Toon's Pine (Doubleday) are in the running for the Debut prize, which awards £500 and a Glencairn Star Trophy. The shortlisted authors will collaborate on a short story in the run-up to the Bloody Scotland Crime Writing festival to be co-ordinated by author and board member, Gordon Brown, in association with their sponsor Glencairn Glass.

Pine also features on the £1,000 McIlvanney Prize longlist, together with Lin Anderson's Time for the Dead (Macmillan), Lisa Gray's Bad Memory (Thomas & Mercer), Andrew James Greig's Whirligig (Fledgling), Doug Johnstone's A Dark Matter (Orenda) Val McDermid's How the Dead Speak (Little, Brown), Ben McPherson's The Island (HarperCollins), James Oswald's Bury Them Deep, (Headline), Ambrose Parry's The Art of Dying (Canongate), Mary Paulson-Ellis' The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing, (Mantle) Caro Ramsay's The Red, Red Snow (Severn House) and Craig Robertson's Watch Him Die (Simon & Schuster).

Finalists for the McIlvanney Prize will be revealed at the beginning of September, and the winner of both prizes will be revealed on Friday 18th September. The Debut prize will be judged by a panel including crime writer and founding director of Bloody Scotland Lin Anderson and representatives from Waterstones and the Glencairn Glass. The McIlvanney Prize will be judged by Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster, James Crawford, chair of Publishing Scotland and BBC presenter and Karen Robinson, editor of the Times Crime Club.

The festival was scheduled to take place on from 18th to 20th September in Stirling, but will now be entirely online.