Beckett's Dark Eden wins Arthur C Clarke Award

Beckett's Dark Eden wins Arthur C Clarke Award

Author Chris Beckett has won the 2013 Arthur C Clarke award with Dark Eden (Corvus).

Beckett's tale of an abandoned colony on a distant planet, described by award director Tom Hunter as "a subtle and slyly contemporary narrative [wrapped] around a classic science fiction concept", beat a shortlist that featured such sf stars as Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken MacLeod, the Guardian reports.

Beckett took the award, and a £2,013 prize, at a ceremony hosted by the Royal Society in London last night (1st May).

The shortlisted candidates were: Nod by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose); Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (Wm Heinemann); The Dog Stars by Peter Heller (Headline); Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit); and 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (also Orbit).

The prize was judged by British Science Fiction Association's Juliet E McKenna, Ruth O'Reilly and Nickianne Moody, together with Liz Williams from the Science Fiction Foundation and Robert Grant of the Sci-Fi London film festival. Chair of the judges was Andrew M Butler.