Best of the Best celebration for Bailey's prize

Best of the Best celebration for Bailey's prize

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is to mark 20 years with two weeks of programming with BBC Radio 4’s “Woman’s Hour” and a partnership with Waterstones.

The Best of the Best celebration will also include an event on 2nd November at the Piccadilly Theatre in London, with award-winning actors including Stanley Tucci, where the best of the best novel of the past 10 winners will be announced.

Novelist Kate Mosse, co-founder and chair of the Women’s Prize for Fiction board, said: “For 20 years, the prize has championed and celebrated outstanding fiction written by women from all over the world, and put passionate, ambitious, fearless, powerful, engaging, thought provoking, entertaining novels into the hands of readers. In 2005, we celebrated our first decade with a Best of the Best campaign with “Woman's Hour”. So as part of our 20 year celebrations, what better way to honour our second decade of winners than to put all 10 winning novels back in the spotlight and introduce a new generation of readers to these exceptional works.”

As part of the programming with “Woman’s Hour”, starting on Monday 19th October, each of the 10 chairs of judges from 2006 to 2015 will be interviewed.

Listeners will be encouraged to vote for their favourite Women’s Prize for Fiction book of the second decade via a poll on the “Woman’s Hour” website, the results of which will be announced on Monday 2nd November, with an interview with the author of the novel chosen.

The 10 chairs will also gather for a judging meeting to decide their Best of the Best of the winning novels of the second decade of the prize.

For the final celebration the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction will hold a special anniversary event, Best of the Best Live, at the Piccadilly Theatre. Hosted by Mosse, it will feature actors reading from each of the 10 novels and there will also be a discussion with the chairs of judges, building up to the announcement of which novel of the second decade is their Best of the Best.

The winner of the Best of the Best 2006 to 2015 will be presented with a special edition Bessie. 

As part of the celebrations, the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction will be partnering with Waterstones, which will be supporting the anniversary activity with a dedicated promotion of the past 10 winning novels in-store and online.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction will also be producing a souvenir anniversary reading guide to the 10 winning books of the last decade. Produced in digital format, it will be available to download online from the “Woman’s Hour” and Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction websites and will include a foreword by Dame Jenni Murray, the chair of the Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2004 and “Woman’s Hour” presenter, and reading notes to the 10 novels.
The winners of the past decade are:
2006 - On Beauty by Zadie Smith (Penguin)
2007 - Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Harper Perennial)
2008 - The Road Home by Rose Tremain (Vintage)
2009 - Home by Marilynne Robinson (Virago)
2010 - The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (Faber & Faber)
2011 - The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)
2012 - The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (Bloomsbury)
2013 - May We Be Forgiven by A M Homes (Granta)
2014 - A Girl is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Galley Beggar/Faber & Faber)
2015 - How to be Both by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton)