Baileys Women's Prize 2016 judges announced

Baileys Women's Prize 2016 judges announced

Lawyer and businesswoman Margaret Mountford, who used to advise Lord Sugar on BBC’s “The Apprentice”, will chair the judging panel for The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2016.

She will joined by author Elif Shafak, broadcast journalist Naga Munchetty, writer and journalist Laurie Penny, and writer and singer Tracey Thorn.

Mountford said: “There are so many great female writers that chairing this year's panel for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction is going to be a real challenge. I'm really looking forward to reading and comparing views on the books with my fellow judges."

The prize is now in its 21st year and celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world.

The winner will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2016 will be awarded on 8th June 2016.

The 2015 prize was won by Ali Smith for How to be Both (Hamish Hamilton).

This year the prize is running its Best of the Best celebration, to find the best novel of the winners from the past 10 years of the award.