Applebaum to chair Samuel Johnson Prize judges

Applebaum to chair Samuel Johnson Prize judges

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian and journalist Anne Applebaum is to chair the judging panel for the 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction.

She will be supported by Emma Duncan, associate editor of The Economist; Sumit Paul-Choudhury, editor of New Scientist; Oxford University professor Rana Mitter; and former controller of film and drama, and head of Film 4, Tessa Ross.

Applebaum said: “I'm delighted to be part of a prize with such an excellent track record in picking and promoting brilliant books, and to chair such a distinguished panel. Given its breadth, depth and variety of experience, I'm looking forward to many good arguments over the next few months."  

The 2014 prize was won by H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (Jonathan Cape). It was the first memoir to win the prize in its 16-year history.  

This week also sees the opening of submissions for the prize.

The submission dates for this year’s prize have changed to accommodate the timelines and deadlines of the publishing calendar.

Eligible books will have been published between 1st November 2014 and 31st October 2015.

The longlist will be announced in September and the shortlist will be announced in October.

The winner of the 2015 prize will be announced on Monday 2nd November.