Anova, C&R, Faber and Yale up for IPA award

Anova, C&R, Faber and Yale up for IPA award

Anova Books, Constable & Robinson, Faber and Yale University Press are to go head-to-head for The Bookseller Trade Publisher of the Year award at next week's Independent Publishing Awards, run by the Independent Publishers Guild in association with The Bookseller and London Book Fair.

The independent publishers with the most nominations are Nosy Crow, shortlisted in four different categories, and Constable & Robinson, which has three places, while Bloomsbury Professional, Faber and Osprey Publishing have two nominations apiece.

The awards, now in their sixth year, form part of the IPG's annual conference, which kicks off next Wednesday in Oxfordshire, with Waterstones m.d. James Daunt the keynote speaker.

The shortlists for the sixth annual awards feature some 20 different companies and four individuals.

The shortlists in full:

The Bookseller Trade Publisher of the Year
Anova Books, Constable & Robinson, Faber & Faber and Yale University Press

IPG Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year
Bloomsbury Professional, Hart Publishing, Liverpool University Press and SAGE

IPG Children’s Publisher of the Year
Barrington Stoke and Nosy Crow

IPG Education Publisher of the Year
Crown House Publishing and Jolly Learning

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year
Accent Press, Osprey Publishing, Quiller Publishing and SPCK Publishing

IPG Newcomer Award
And Other Stories, How 2 Become and Nosy Crow

The London Book Fair International Achievement Award
Nosy Crow and Woodhead Publishing

Ingram Digital Publishing Award
Bloomsbury Professional, Constable & Robinson, Faber and Osprey Publishing

The Frankfurt Book Fair Digital Marketing Award
Constable & Robinson, Nosy Crow and Top That! Publishing

IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year
Andrew Furlow, Icon Books and Sarah Shin, Verso Books

GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award
Adrian Driscoll and David Segrue

Two more categories—the Nielsen Innovation of the Year and the IPG Diversity Award —have no shortlists this year, though winners for both prizes will also be presented at the Gala Dinner. A final company award—for the overall IPG Independent Publisher of the Year—will also be named, from a shortlist made up of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

All IPG Independent Publishing Awards winners will be revealed at a gala dinner on Thursday 8th March 2012. The event will take place at the 50th Annual Conference of the IPG, to be held at Heythrop Park in Oxfordshire from 7th March to 9th March.

Bridget Shine, executive director of the IPG, said: “The lists illustrate the incredible breadth of talent and achievement within independent publishing, which continues to contribute an enormous amount to UK culture and business. We are also grateful to all those IPG members who took the time to make submissions to what proved to be a very high quality field of entries.”