404 Ink and BHP Comics join forces on graphic novel anthology

404 Ink and BHP Comics join forces on graphic novel anthology

Scottish publishers 404 Ink and BHP Comics are partnering to bring out a graphic novel anthology in celebration of the centenary of women gaining the vote in the UK.

We Shall Fight Until We Win celebrates a century since women gained the right to vote in the UK in 1918, and the "many pioneering women who have been, and are part of the ongoing fight".

"From suffragettes like Emmeline Pankhurst and Sophia Duleep Singh, through the ‘firsts’ in politics like Nancy Astor, the first female member of Parliament to take her seat, and Diane Abbott, the first black woman to hold a seat in the House of Commons, to many of the women heading up politics today, this graphic novel tells their stories - some well-known, some less so - by a mix of contributors to celebrate the landmark and achievements of many incredible women", said the publishers.

The anthology will be published in June 2018.

The publishers are still compiling their list of contributors and are open to submissions from comic creators. Submissions of example work can be sent to subs@bhpcomics.com.

404 Ink said: "We’re delighted to be partnering with BHP Comics to release We Shall Fight Until We Win. Celebrating the lives of women through our debut book Nasty Women has been an incredible experience and we’re excited to work with one of our favourite publishers to continue doing this but by looking at women throughout history in the UK."

BHP Comics added: "Working with 404 Ink is really exciting for us at BHP Comics. We look forward to exploring the lives of the women who won the right  to vote and those who have utilised their political position since in We Shall Fight Until We Win."

404 Ink recently became the first publisher to top The List Hot 100, compiled by Scottish magazine The List to celebrate the "hottest" contributions to the cultural landscape across the year.

Pre-orders for the project will be launched on Kickstarter in January 2018.