Announcing the FutureBook Awards' Platform of the Year honour

Announcing the FutureBook Awards' Platform of the Year honour

The FutureBook Awards stand for innovation and achievement

They are a reflection of what publishers are working on today but also a foretaste of tomorrow’s publishing.

The awards conclude the annual FutureBook Conference, which brings more than 500 of publishing's finest digital thinkers together for a day of exploration and revivification. Earlier this month we announced the launch of the 2015 FutureBook Awards, including two new categories, the FutureBook BookTech Company of the Year, and the Digital Achiever of the Year.

I’m now delighted to announce a third new award this year, the FutureBook Platform of the Year, sponsored by Firebrand and NetGalley.

The new award is a continuation of the Website of the Year prize, previously won by Lonely Planet, Unbound and Hardie Grant's Cooked.

The change in emphasis this year, reflects how the book business is now both analogue and digital, web-based and mobile, singular and social. It has been clear for some time that having an award for one aspect of publisher’s outreach no longer made sense. We demand of publishers that they are format agnostic, and in finding audiences for their content their approach must now be multifaceted and platform smart. Being where their customers are means recognising that they are in different places.   

The FutureBook Platform of the Year better reflects these broader levels of activity, however they manifest themselves (print, mobile, online and face to face). Specifically, the award recognises excellence in the creation and execution of platforms that promote books, booksellers, authors, publishers or reader engagement. 

The award covers platforms in whatever media that perform multiple business functions, including direct-to-consumer websites, brand marketing sites, author portals, virtual conferences, and pop-up shops. The platforms can be website, mobile, physical or cross-media. The award is aimed at publishers, booksellers, agents, distributors, and authors. Platforms may have existed for some time, but to win the FutureBook Award in this year, evidence must be produced of evolution or innovation during the past year (from 1st September 2014 to 1st September 2015)

Sat Virdi, Firebrand's UK relationship manager, told us: “Firebrand and NetGalley are extraordinarily pleased to present the Platform of the Year award, highlighting the importance of creativity to engage new audiences with purpose. As publishers continue to expand their direct-to-reader sales, we look forward to even more exciting new platforms in years to come led by the nominees of this award.”

The deadline for submissions for all the awards has been extended to 2nd October.

To enter the Platform of the Year award click here.

 FutureBook Flash Sale

Special Rate Until 12pm on Wednesday 30th September 
Today we’re offering you a one-off chance to book for FutureBook 2015 at a 10 percent discount on top of our current Super Early Bird rate. To give you time to book, this code expires at midnight on 30th September (GMT). Use code FUTUREBOOKFLASHSALE10.

Book Tech judges unveiled

Molly Flatt has also now unveiled the judges for the Book Tech pitch-off at the FutureBook Conference. These are Hannah Telfer, group director of consumer and digital development at Penguin Random House UK, Dan Kieran, co-founder and chief executive of Unbound, VC Eileen Burbidge, partner at Passion Capital and one of the UK’s most influential tech VCs. Recently appointed chair of Tech City UK. 

As Molly puts it, if you want to see our judges in action, interrogating and discussing seven of the most exciting book tech companies around, book your tickets for the conference now.