Audiobook Revolution 2017


11:00 - 11:05


Philip Jones, editor, The Bookseller
11:05 - 12:00


Rebecca Herrmann, founder and co-c.e.o. of Bolinda audio

Panel: how can the new audiobook retailers grow in the UK market?

*CHAIR* Kiera O'Brien, charts editor, The Bookseller
Niclas Sandin, c.e.o., Bookbeat
Ian Small, general manager,
Michael Tamblyn, president and c.e.o., Kobo
Kurt Thielen, managing director, Zebralution
12:10 - 13:00

Panel: how can we sell more audiobooks?

*Chair* Miriam Robinson, programme director, Marketing & Publishing Conference
Kevin Addley, marketing director,
Fionnuala Barrett, senior audio editor, HarperCollins Publishers
Paul Martinovic, non-fiction communications manager, Pan Macmillan
Jennifer McMenemy, marketing manager, Orion Books
Susie Warhurst, UK content director, acast

13:00 - 14:15 - LUNCH

14:15 - 14:45

Panel: how can we make better audiobooks?

*Chair* Jo Forshaw, audiobook publishing consultant
Sarah Shrubb, audio publisher, Little, Brown
Joanna Lord, audio and online sales manager, Canongate
Patrick McQuaid, owner, id audio
Ravina Bajwa, senior commissioning editor, Pottermore
Sam Halstead, senior commissioning editor, Penguin
14:45 - 15:25

Panel: how is market for audiobook rights changing?

*CHAIR* Philip Jones, editor, The Bookseller
Alice Lutyens, agent, Curtis Brown
Nathan Hull, chief commercial and content officer, Book Choice
Ivan Mulcahy, literary agent, Mulcahy Associates
Dominic White, head of publishing and commerce, W.F. Howes/Wavesound
Patti Pirooz, audio publishing consultant and advisor
15:30 - 16:15

Panel: how is new technology changing the way we listen?

*CHAIR* David Roper, founder and m.d., Heavy Entertainment
Rachel Mallender, group audio director, HarperCollins UK
Nicky Birch, founder/director, Rosina Sound
Matthew Hammersley, c.e.o., Novel Effect
Stacy Rowe, RNIB Bookshare Manager, RNIB


16:30 - 16:50

The view from Gen Z

Dr Eliza Filby, writer, academic and businesswoman
16:50 - 17:20

FutureBook Awards presentation

Dr Sue Black OBE

17:20 - 18:30 DRINKS RECEPTION