Books of the Month: July 2020

Books of the Month: July 2020

Every month, The Bookseller's expert previewers highlight a selection of the new fiction, non-fiction, children's and paperback titles coming out. Here, we share their top picks for July's new releases.

Please note, given the present COVID-19 situation, all publication dates are subject to change.

  1. 1

    Fiction Book of the Month

    Small Pleasures by Clare Chambers 
    Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
    RRP: £14.99
    Publication date: July 9th 2020
    ISBN: 9781474613880

    Books editor Alice O'Keeffe selected Clare Chambers' Small Pleasures as her July Book of the Month. Small Pleasures is set in South-East London in 1957, Jean Swinney is the features editor for a local paper when a young Swiss woman, Gretchen Tilbury, writes to the paper, claiming her 10-year-old daughter is the result of a virgin birth and Jean is given the story to investigate. O'Keeffe said: "Small Pleasures is both an absorbing mystery and a tender love story, and the ending is devastating. Chambers is a writer who finds the truth of things."

    For readers who enjoy Tessa Hadley or Anne Tyler.

    Subscribers can read the full July 2020 Fiction Previews here.

  2. 2

    Non-Fiction Book of the Month

    Anti-Social by Nick Pettigrew 
    Publisher: Century
    RRP: £16.99
    Publication date: July 23rd 2020
    ISBN: 9781529124774

    This professional-confessional of an anti-social behaviour officer is Caroline Sanderson's choice for July Book of the Month. Anti-Social charts Pettigrew's more than 15-year career as an anti-social behaviour officer, a job which, he says "stretched the limits of my patience, compassion and sanity". Sanderson said: "His first book is a riveting and brilliantly written memoir."

    For readers who enjoyed This is Going to Hurt

    Subscribers can read the full July 2020 Non-Fiction Previews here.

  3. 3

    Children's Book of the Month

    Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis 
    Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
    RRP: £7.99
    Publication date: July 9th 2020
    ISBN: 9780241397046

    "Scary", "Suspenseful" and "deliciously twisty" were a few things Fiona Noble had to say about her July Book of the Month, Harrow Lake. Lola Not is the daughter of a celebrated horror film-maker. When her father is brutally attacked, she's packed off to live with her estranged grandmother in the small town of Harrow Lake. Noble said: "It's an eerie film set frozen in time, a place of shadows and secrets, menacing residents and unexplained disappearances."

    Subscribers can read the full July 2020 Children's Previews here.

  4. 4

    Paperback Book of the Month

    Rewild Yourself by Simon Barnes 
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
    RRP: £8.99
    Publication date: 1st June 2020 
    ISBN: 9781471175428

    Luckily for eager readers, the publication of Rewild Yourself was brought forward during the coronavirus pandemic, but not before Alison Flood chose the title as her July Book of the Month. The book is a collection of 23 ways to bring nature closer to home. Flood said: "I've already found it making a real difference to my strange, small new daily life, and I think it could help many others." 

    Subscribers can read the full July 2020 Paberback Previews here.