The British Book Awards

The British Book Awards

Grosvenor House, Park Lane
May 14, 2018

The shortlist has now been announced! For the full lists of nominees please visit The British Book Awards website.

The British Book Awards or Nibbies honours and celebrates the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops. Organised by The Bookseller, it culminates in the stand-out event of the publishing year, The British Book Awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel.

Alongside trade accolades such as publisher of the year and book retailer of the year, The British Book Awards announces seven individual books of the year: Children’s; Debut fiction; Fiction; Crime & Thriller; Non-fiction: Lifestyle; Non-fiction: Narrative and (new in 2018) AudioBook. An overall Book of the Year is then chosen from the individual winners.

Also new in 2018, The British Book Awards celebrates an author, or illustrator, who has achieved stunning commercial success alongside making a genuine contribution to the general health of the book world.

The Nibbies was launched in 1990 by Fred Newman, founder and editor of Publishing News and taken over by The Bookseller in 2017. There have been many notable winners over the years. Faber was the first publisher of the year in 1990 and in 2017 the honour went to Pan Macmillan. JK Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince scooped book of the year in 2006. In 2017, Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent took that overall honour. 

You can click on the below headings to view this year's category criteria.

Great People
- Editor of the Year
- Literary Agent of the Year
- Rights Professional of the Year
- Individual Bookseller of the Year

Publishing Success
- Marketing Strategy of the Year
- Independent Publisher of the Year
- Imprint of the Year
- Children's Publisher of the Year
- Academic, Educational & Professional Publisher of the Year
- Publisher of the Year
- Publicity Campaign of the Year

Bringing Books to Readers
- Independent Bookshop of the Year
- Children's Bookseller of the Year
- Book Retailer of the Year

Books of the Year
- Children's
- Debut
- Fiction
- Fiction - Crime & Thriller
- Non-Fiction - Lifestyle
- Non-Fiction - Narrative
- AudioBook (new)

New for 2018!
 - Author of the Year
 - Illustrator of the Year


Visit Site