The British Book Awards - a history

The British Book Awards, a.k.a. the Nibbies, were launched by Fred Newman, founder, editor and publisher of Publishing News. Faber was the first winner of the Publisher of the Year award.

Transworld picked up the Publisher of the Year Award, the first of its four - including 2016's victory.

Dorling Kindersley won Publisher of the Year; Dr D G hessayon was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Daunt Books won Independent Bookshop of the Year, while Transworld took home its third Publisher of the Year gong.

Bloomsbury won Publisher of the Year, a feat it repeated in 2001; Waterstones Piccadilly took Chain Bookseller of the Year; Book of the Year was Managing My Life by Alex Ferguson (Hodder).

HarperCollins won the first of its two Publisher of the Year awards—its second came 10 years later, in 2012.

Time Warner won Publisher of the Year (Little, Brown also won it in 1995); Profile Books won Independent Publisher of the Year; and Ottakar’s won Chain Bookselling Company of the Year.

The Bookseller launched The Bookseller Retail Awards; Borders UK was crowned Retail Chain of the Year—and a year later it also won a Nibbie.

Amazon took the top award at The Bookseller Retail Awards; The Torbay Bookshop won Independent Bookshop of the Year. Faber won its second Publisher of the Year Nibbie, while Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince won Book of the Year.

At the Nibbies, Penguin won Publisher of the Year for only the second time in its history. Quercus was named Independent Publisher, Blackwell’s won Bookshop Company of the Year. At The Bookseller Retail Awards, Jaffé & Neale bagged the Independent Bookshop prize.

The British Book Awards were last presented; The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale won Book of the Year, while J K Rowling was presented with the Outstanding Achievement Award. Canongate won Publisher of the Year.

The Bookseller brings the Trade Nibbies together with its own Retail Awards to create The Bookseller Industry Awards. Little, Brown was named Publisher of the Year; Foyles won Book Retailer of the Year.

Pan Macmillan won the Publisher of the Year award for the first time in its history, with Waterstones named Book Retailer of the Year.

The Bookseller Industry Awards became The British Book Industry Awards, and a number of book-specific prizes were launched alongside the trade categories. Winners included Overall Book of the Year The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley, as well as Book of the Year category winners Norwegian Wood... (by Lars Mytting), My Brother is a Superhero (by David Solomons) and A Little Life (by Hanya Yanagihara). Transworld was named Publisher of the Year; W H smith Travel took home Book Retailer of the Year.

The British Book Awards return.