Editor of the Year

Winner: Editor of the Year

Rebecca Hill

Rebecca Hill


Usborne has built its phenomenal reputation and sales on its non-fiction, activity and early years publishing, but Rebecca Hill’s amazing success with its growing list of older fiction in 2018 has added new depth to the children's publisher's output.

It is this work that makes her the first children’s publisher to win the Editor of the Year award—though she and her authors haven’t been short of recognition over the past few years. Hill was named a Bookseller Rising Star in 2017, and followed that up last year with the Branford Boase Award—unique in the prize world in that it recognises the contribution of editors to children’s books; in her case, Mitch Johnson’s début, Kick. She also edited The Bookseller’s 2018 YA Book Prize winner, Will Hill’s After the Fire, and had books up for the Blue Peter Book Awards and Waterstones Children’s Book Prize too.

She is longlisted again for the Branford Boase Award in 2019 for not just one but two books: P G Bell’s The Train to Impossible Places and Sophie Anderson’s The House with Chicken Legs, which was Usborne’s top-selling fiction book of the year. As well as débuts, Hill steered the success of established writers including Holly Bourne and Geraldine McCaughrean—who scooped the Carnegie Medal and the Independent Bookshop Week Children's Book Award for Where the World Ends.


  • Francis Bickmore
    Steered Matt Haig into new genres and phenomenal sales, and reinvigorated Canongate's acquisitions.
  • Jessie Botterill
    Former literary agent who has used her eye for talent to build several big author brands at Hachette’s digital-first list.
  • Louisa Joyner
    Faber & Faber
    At the heart of Faber’s remarkable 2018, she was the editor behind Anna Burns’ Man Booker Prize winner Milkman.
  • Alison Hennessy
    Raven Books
    Has quickly established Bloomsbury’s new fiction list as a major player in crime and thrillers.
  • Anna Valentine
    Orion Publishing Group
    Force behind Trapeze, and publisher of hits from Noel Fitzpatrick and the Ordnance Survey among others last year.
  • Arabella Pike
    William Collins
    A driving force for HarperCollins’ serious non-fiction, with 2018 hits from Max Hastings and Helena Morrissey.
  • Michael Schmidt
    Carcanet Press
    Hugely respected poetry editor and champion of diversity in publishing’s output for more than half a century now.