About The British Book Awards

From the best books to the best bookshops. From authors to editors. From publisher of the year to children’s bookseller. Objective, transparent and independently judged by leading book trade figures, The British Book Awards have championed the very best of the book trade for nigh on 30 years.

Alongside trade accolades such as publisher of the year and book retailer of the year, The British Book Awards announces eight individual books of the year: Children’s Fiction; Children’s Illustrated and Non-fiction; Debut Fiction; Fiction; Crime & Thriller; Non-fiction: Lifestyle; Non-fiction: Narrative and AudioBook. An overall Book of the Year is then chosen from the individual winners.

Also new in 2019, The British Book Awards celebrates the British Isles’ best small presses, with sales below £2m.

The Nibbies was launched in 1990 by Fred Newman, founder and editor of Publishing News and taken over by The Bookseller in 2017. There have been many notable winners over the years. Faber was the first Publisher of the Year in 1990 and in 2017 the honour went to Pan Macmillan. JK Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince scooped Book of the Year in 2006. In 2017, Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent took that overall honour, followed by Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine in 2018.


Open for entries

14th December

Super Early Bird prices for table and seat tickets

14th December

Submissions close

8th February

Independent Bookshop of the Year Regional Finalists announced

20th February

Super Early Bird prices end

22nd February

Early Bird prices for table and seat tickets

23rd February

Shortlist announced

22nd March

Early Bird prices end

29th March

Table and Seat bookings close

3rd May

Awards Ceremony

13th May

The British Book Awards 2017 highlights