Robinson among International Man Booker contenders

Robinson among International Man Booker contenders

Orange Prize-winner Marilynne Robinson is among the nominations for the International Man Booker Prize.

The finalist list was announced today (24th January) by chair of judges Christopher Ricks, at the Jaipur Literature Festival in India.

Joining the American author in the list of nominations are the authors Yan Lianke whose novel Dream of Ding Village was published by Corsair and Lydia Davis, published by Penguin.

Announcing the list, Ricks said: "Each is the author of a substantial body of published work, whether novels or short stories, either written in or translated into English. Some of these men and women are in their eighties, the youngest in their forties and fifties. They write in ways that are astonishingly different."

In 2013, the biennial prize reaches its fifth year anniversary. It recognises one writer for their achievement in fiction, with £60,000 awarded to the winner.

There will be a ceremony held on the 22nd May at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London to announce the winner.

The 10 authors shortlisted:

U R Ananthamurthy (India)
Aharon Appelfeld (Israel)
Lydia Davis (USA)
Intizar Husain (Pakistan)
Yan Lianke (China)
Marie NDiaye (France)
Josip Novakovich (Canada)
Marilynne Robinson (USA)
Vladimir Sorokin (Russia)
Peter Stamm (Switzerland)