News

New Denis Johnson to Harvill Secker

Harvill Secker will publish the new novel by Denis Johnson, described as “a thriller in the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré”.

Editorial director Michal Shavit acquired British and Commonwealth rights (excluding Canada) to The Laughing Monsters from Devon Mazzone at Farrar, Straus & Giroux.

The book will be published in November this year, and Vintage will publish the paperbacks of Johnson’s first book, Angels, and another novel, Fiskadoro, alongside The Laughing Monsters.

Shavit said: “In this new novel, Johnson is writing at a new pitch. This is a literary thriller in the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré which begins in Sierra Leone and with a love triangle at its heart. It is a novel of intrigue and deception, the addiction to chaos and danger. We are immensely proud to welcome this extraordinary writer to the Harvill Secker list.”

Johnson is the author of seven novels, three collections of poetry, one short story collection and one book of reportage.

He is twice a Pulitzer Prize finalist, for Tree of Smoke (Picador) and Train Dreams (Granta). His most recent novel was Nobody Move (Picador).