Murray and Agutter to judge Costa Book of the Year

Broadcaster Dame Jenni Murray will chair the 2012 Costa Book of the Year panel, with other judges including actress Jenny Agutter and comedian Mark Watson.

The "Woman's Hour" presenter will also be joined by actor and writer Sophie Ward, newsreader Katie Derham and authors Wendy Holden, DJ Taylor, Daljit Nagra and Marcus Sedgwick.

They will meet on 29th January to select the winner of the 41st Costa Book of the Year award, previously the Whitbread Book Awards, with the results announced at a ceremony that evening presented by Penny Smith.

The winner of the overall prize will receive £30,000, while the winners of the five categories ­ best novel, first novel, biography, poetry and children¹s book ­ will receive £5,000 each.

Category winners will be announced on 3rd January.

Last year's Costa Book of the Year winner was Andrew Miller for Pure (Sceptre).