Kingsley, Faber and Kogan win indie awards

Jessica Kingsley Publishers has scooped the first ever van Tulleken Independent Publisher of the Year award. The awards, run with The Bookseller and the London Book Fair, were announced at this year's Independent Publishers Guild's annual conference. Kingsley was joined on the winners' podium by fellow independent Faber, as well as Philip Kogan, who won a lifetime achievement award.

Jessica Kingsley Publishers also won the Taylor Wessing Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year award. The prizes coincide with the publisher's 20th year as an independent company. The judges said JKP encapsulated the very best of independent publishing in the UK. "This is a classic example of brilliant niche publishing, where an independent has found an area and made a difference through its books. It has performed consistently well over a sustained period of time and is still seeking new ways to grow and push the boundaries in publishing."

Faber was also a double-winner, picking up the National Book Tokens Trade Publisher of the Year and the Nielsen Innovation of the Year for its Independent Alliance of publishers. Lightning Source Children's Publisher of the Year went to Barrington Stoke, while Featherstone Education scooped the SBS Worldwide Education Publisher of the Year. The UK Trade & Investment International Achievement of the Year award went to Jolly Learning, while Frances Lincoln received the IPG Diversity Award.

The IPG Patrons’ Lifetime Achievement Award went to Philip Kogan, founder and chairman of business book publisher Kogan Page, which is celebrating four decades as an independent in 2007. Kogan was nominated for his commitment to the Kogan Page business and his vigorous support of the IPG since its foundation. "He is an inspiring independent publisher with great vision who has refused to be bullied and has led his company into its 40th year," the judges commented.

The winners were chosen by panels of industry experts--including Lesley Agnew, Willie Anderson, Francis Bennett, Philip Blackwell, Carole Blake, Ruth Borthwick, and Neill Denny--and received their awards at a gala dinner in Brighton on 3rd March.