HQ acquires 'addictive' frenemy debut

HQ acquires 'addictive' frenemy debut

HQ publishing director Kate Mills has bought UK and Commonwealth rights in US debut novel It’s Always the Husband by Michele Campbell.

Rights were bought from Kerry Nordling at St Martin’s Press New York.  

It’s Always the Husband begins with a woman being encouraged to jump from a bridge by a friend on the night of a 40th birthday party, and flashes back over decades to explore the blurred line between friend and frenemy.  

Kate Mills said: ‘I’m thrilled to be publishing It’s Always the Husband at HQ. It’s utterly addictive – part blockbuster, part thriller – and perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Michele Campbell picks at the seams of a friendship formed when three women meet at college, unravelling secrets, affairs, grudges and betrayals, ultimately culminating in a murder.  

"It’s a phenomenally accomplished, intricately-plotted debut which has already gathered praise from Shari Lapena, Ruth Ware and BA Paris and it’s easy to see why – characters readers recognise with a plot that keeps you guessing right up to the final line. Michele Campbell is an extremely exciting new voice.’

Campbell is a graduate of Harvard and Stanford Law School, and spent eight years fighting crime as a federal prosecutor in New York City. 

HQ will publish in paperback, e-book and audiobook in January 2018.