Headline acquires Submissive Trilogy

Headline has acquired The Submissive Trilogy, which originated as fan fiction inspired by the Twilight novels.

Kate Byrne, senior commissioning editor for fiction at Headline Publishing Group, acquired British Commonwealth excluding Canada in four books from Penguin US in a pre-emptive deal. Author Tara Sue Me first published the novel The Submissive as a Twilight fan fiction in 2009.

Byrne said: "Fans of E L James and Sylvia Day will find this trilogy’s portrayal of a BDSM relationship between a wealthy c.e.o. and a young librarian utterly irresistible, and we know that readers will fall instantly in love with her characters, just as we have."
 
Barbara Ronan, Headline sales director, said: "We are publishing the e-book edition of The Submissive immediately in February 2013, and will make it available for the first time in print in the UK in June 2013, quickly following up with The Dominant in all formats in August 2013, and The Training in October 2013. Our sales strategy will be to keep momentum high throughout the year, backed up by a massive consumer campaign."
 
Jane Morpeth, Headline m.d. added: "I am delighted that Headline has acquired The Submissive Trilogy. This is the series, and Tara Sue Me the author, everyone is going to be talking about in 2013."