Dylan Thomas prize picks 14

A longlist of 14 books has been revealed for this year's Dylan Thomas literary prize. The biennial £60,000 prize is one of the largest literary awards and recognises work by English language writers under 30 from around the world.

The list includes authors from Dylan's native South Wales, Zoe Brigley (The Secret) and Joe Dunthorne (Submarine), as well as from the rest of the UK, South Africa, Kenya, the US and Iran.

Caroline Bird, who is nominated for her second poetry collection, Trouble Came to the Turnip, is the youngest writer on the list at 21.

The longlist was announced in the late poet's home city of Swansea by actor Michael Sheen, and the winner is revealed in November.


Ross Raisin's God's Own Country
Joe Dunthorne's Submarine
Ceridwen Dovey's Blood Kin
Susan Barker's The Orientalist and the Ghost
Priya Basil's Ishq and Mushq
Edward Hogan's Blackmoor
Ben Dolnick's Zoology
Susan Fletcher's Oystercatchers
Adam Green's Satsuma Sun Mover
Kei Miller's There is an Anger that Moves
Caroline Bird's Trouble Came to the Turnip
Zoe Brigley's The Secret
Porochista Khakpour's Sons and Other Flammable Objects
Nan Le's The Boat
Karen Russell's St Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves
Dinaw Mengestu's Children of the Revolution