Coetzee and Christopher among shortlistees for PM awards

J M Coetzee, Lucy Christopher and Deborah Forster are among the 29 authors to have shortlisted for this year's Prime Minister's Literary Awards in Australia.

Arts Minister Peter Garrett announced the "great Australian titles" - in four categories comprising fiction, non-fiction, and for the first time young adult fiction and children's fiction - today (15th July)

Garrett said being shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards was "a great achievement for authors that will bring further public recognition of their writing".

Fiction shortlist

Summertime, J.M. Coetzee
The Book of Emmett, Deborah Forster
The Lakewoman, Alan Gould
Dog Boy, Eva Hornung
Ransom, David Malouf
Lovesong, Alex Miller
As the Earth turns Silver, Alison Wong

Non-Fiction shortlist

The Water Dreamers: The Remarkable History of Our Dry Continent, Michael Cathcart
Strange Places: A Memoir of Mental Illness, Will Elliott
The Colony: A History of Early Sydney, Grace Karskens
The Life and Death of Democracy, John Keane
The Blue Plateau: A Landscape Memoir, Mark Tredinnick
The Ghost at the Wedding, Shirley Walker

Young Adult Fiction shortlist

Stolen, Lucy Christopher
The Winds of Heaven, Judith Clarke
Confessions of a Liar, Thief and Failed Sex God, Bill Condon
The Museum of Mary Child, Cassandra Golds
Swerve, Phillip Gwynne
Jarvis 24, David Metzenthen
Beatle meets Destiny, Gabrielle Williams

Children’s Fiction shortlist

Cicada Summer, Kate Constable
The Terrible Plop, Ursula Dubosarsky and illustrated by Andrew Joyner
Just Macbeth, Andy Griffiths and illustrated by Terry Denton
Mr Chicken goes to Paris, Leigh Hobbs
Running with the Horses, Alison Lester
Star Jumps, Lorraine Marwood
Mannie and the Long Brave Day, Martine Murray and illustrated by Sally Rippin
Tensy Farlow and the Home for Mislaid Children, Jen Storer
Harry and Hopper, Margaret Wild and illustrated by Freya Blackwood